A New Home with Garlic Sage Pork Roast

Out of the oven and ready to be sliced....

I didn’t move much when I was growing up but I did move once.  When I was 11 we moved from the suburbs of Portland, OR to the suburbs of Salt Lake City, UT.  It was a big move and put the bug in me.  I like the promise and potential of a new house.  I am,  however, tired of moving.  Packing, and unpacking, are no longer full of promise but just a lot of work.  I am ready for our forever home but in the meantime, since we can’t yet go where we want to be but really needed another bathroom, we have bought a new house and are in the process of unpacking our new home.

It seemed fitting that the blog got a new home as well. Tell me what you think! What would you like to see in this new home? It truly is full of promise and potential! Speaking of…..I have a new stove!

We finally got one (the most important) appliance! We have an itty bitty little mini fridge but we had no stove. Now that I have one I have wasted NO time in getting back into the swing of cooking! I (prego as I am) have been craving pork roast. Don’t ask. With the oldest I couldn’t come anywhere NEAR pork but this one is the solid opposite. I pride myself on my indoor garden and use the fresh herbs whenever possible. I also have a thing for garlic so here is tonight’s to-die-for dinner. Buy the roast when it’s on sale and freeze the leftovers or use for other meals to keep it frugal. Growing your own herbs and garlic helps keep it frugal as well … not to mention the fabulous taste!

Garlic Sage Pork Roast

  • Pork Roast, split lengthwise and tied at intervals around (ours was 5 pounds)
  • 1/4 cup fresh sage leaves
  • 3 TBLSP Olive Oil
  • 1 tsp freshly ground sea salt
  • 8-10 garlic cloves

Combine the sage, olive oil and salt in a mortar and pestle then grind it to a paste. Peel the garlic and smash it a little to release it’s oils. Insert a clove into the center in each opening between twine all the way around. Insert two in each end. Spread the sage paste all over the top and sides of roast, rubbing it in with your hands.

Bake at 325 for about 40 minutes per pound which means this cooked at 3 1/2 hours. Let rest for 15 – 20 minutes to save juices.

We really like garlic so I served this with Garlic Mashed Potatoes and a salad. ENJOY!

2 comments on “A New Home with Garlic Sage Pork Roast

  1. Gail Roberts says:

    Sounds lovely thanks!

  2. […] For snack we’ll have pineapple and celery with homemade peanut butter. Dinner is leftover Sage/Garlic Pork Roast and rice with salad. It’s a […]

Leave a Reply

